Congratulations to Marygrove Jubilarians

candlesEvery year the IHMs gather to celebrate significant milestones (or “Jubilees”). This year, 49 women are celebrating their Jubilee. Of the 49, there are 11 who have touched Marygrove significantly this year and we would like to congratulate them.

75 Years – Letitia O’Connell, IHM
-Marygrove Business Office, 1944-46
-Student Services, 1994-1996

70 Years – Patricia Guthrie, IHM
Past member, Marygrove Board of Trustees

70 Years – Marie Hopkins, IHM
Teacher, Marygrove Preschool, 1958-1960
-Director, Marygrove Preschool, 1960-1978
-Chair, Education Department, 1979-1990
-Research, 1995-2004

 70 Years – Ruth McGuire, IHM
-Marygrove Convent, 1989-1991

 65 Years – Joyce Durosko, IHM
-Past member, Marygrove Board of Trustees

60 Years – Dorothy McDaniel, IHM
– Professor, Math/Physics, 1969-1971
-Past member, Marygrove Board of Trustees

60 Years – Kathleen O’Brien, IHM
-Campus Ministry, 2001-2004

 50 Years – Mary Ellen Loren, IHM
– Professor/Tutor, English, 1993-2006

50 Years – Patricia McCluskey, IHM
-Professor, Psycology, 1983-1985
-Current IHM Leadership Council, Mission Councilor
-Current Vice Chair, Marygrove Board of Trustees

50 Years – Diane McCormack, IHM
-Past member, Marygrove Board of Trustees

50 Years – Ann Nett, IHM
-Current resident Marygrove’s Hartman Hall
-Founding member of the new Marygrove Herbal Garden Project

All greetings and words of congratulations can be sent to the IHM Motherhouse.

Join the IHM Sisters in prayer at Hartman Hall

prayThe IHM Sisters at Hartman Hall have graciously extended an invitation to the College Community to join them in their home again for prayer on Wednesday, April 17th at 4:15 PM.  Please RSVP to the Campus Ministry Office if you plan to attend:

Jesse Cox, Campus Ministry Office (313) 927-1404 or

A Conversation with IHMs: Challenges in Building a Culture of Peace

dovePlease join us for a discussion with members of Marygrove’s founders– the Sisters, Servants of the Immaculate Heart of Mary (IHMs) on the following subject:

A Conversation with IHMS: Challenges in Building a Culture of Peace

WHEN: Thursday, Feb. 14, 2013
WHERE: Denk Chapman Hall
TIME: Noon – 1:15 p.m.

How do we handle violence?

Marie Gabriel Hungerman, IHM, Patty Rourke, IHM, and Joan Chicoine, IHM

IHMs Elect New Leadership Council

From L to R: Mary Jane Herb, President; Mary Ann Bredice, Mission Councilor; Margaret Alandt, Mission Councilor; Patricia McCluskey, Mission Councilor; Helen Ingles, Chief Financial Officer; Sharon Holland, Vice President

The IHM Sisters elected six members to the IHM Leadership Council. They will serve the congregation from July 2012-2018. Continue reading